New version of Toledo Talk


    February 4, 2005

Ray Kest now owns The Mental Block (thementalblock.net)? - Well, unless someone is using his name in vain, it appears that Ray Kest has acquired thementalblock.net domain.

Here's the info from Network Solutions:

//beginning of registration info//

Registrant:
Kest, Ray
ATTN: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA. 20172-0447

Domain Name: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET

Administrative Contact:
Kest, Ray d29ep9m95cv@networksolutionsprivateregistration.com
ATTN: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA 20172-0447
570-708-8780

Technical Contact:
Network Solutions, LLC. (HOST-ORG) customerservice@networksolutions.com
13200 Woodland Park Drive
Herndon, VA 20171-3025
US
1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620

Record expires on 11-Sep-2005.
Record created on 11-Sep-2003.
Database last updated on 3-Feb-2005 17:32:09 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS63.WORLDNIC.COM 216.168.228.34
NS64.WORLDNIC.COM 216.168.225.204

This listing is a Network Solutions Private Registration. Mail correspondence to this address must be sent via USPS Express Mail(TM) or USPS Certified Mail(R); all other mail will not be processed. Be sure to include the registrant’s domain name in the address.

//end of doamin registration info//

So, I wonder what Ray is up to?

hmmmm?

Deep Kimchi

posted by Erie_Island to politics at 3:45 P.M. EST     (17 Comments)


Comments ...


I KNEW IT!

thementalblcok.net had stuff in it that ONLY could have come from county offices.

So it WAS Ray Kest, all along.

Either that or Ray will be suing someone for hijacking his name for registration of the web site.

posted by Guest at 03:55 P.M. EST on Fri Feb 04, 2005     #



Not web site, domain name.

Of course, if you read the proper terms involved when registering a domain name, falsification of info is grounds for deletion of the domain name.

posted by Guest at 05:07 P.M. EST on Fri Feb 04, 2005     #




Interesting info. I think Ray is living in Florida, and I thought I heard he recently got married.

(And it looks like someone forgot their closing bold tags. I added a bunch of bold closers ahead of my post, so maybe that will turn it off.)

posted by jr at 11:14 P.M. EST on Fri Feb 04, 2005     #



Last March, there was a discussion here about who the owner of TheMentalBlock.net was. The topic-starter heard it was John Orr the owner of the Bronze Boar. Orr posted a comment as Guest saying, nope, he didn't own the site.

Then a month later, there was a posting about how TheMentalBlock.net was stolen by John Robinson Block. That was around the time, I think, that the mental site vanished.

From April, 2004:

"Three days ago, Paul Hem, an employee of the Toledo Blade, requested Network
Solutions, an internet control agency, to give Hem the rights to the domain
name of TheMentalBlock.Net. That agency is currently in the process of
acting on that request."



"A whois check as of Monday night, April 19 [2004], shows:"


thementalblock.net

Registrant:
Paul Hem
ATTN: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA. 20172-0447

Domain Name: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET

Administrative Contact:
Hem, Paul s84mn85r3n3@networksolutionsprivateregistration.com
Paul Hem Consulting
ATTN: THEMENTALBLOCK.NET
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA 20172-0447
570-708-8780

posted by jr at 11:38 P.M. EST on Fri Feb 04, 2005     #



This whole thing could be a red herring. How does anyone know that this Ray Kest is THE Ray Kest? There's got to be more than one Ray Kest in the country. Maybe somebody is playing with our collective minds.
posted by Guest at 12:33 A.M. EST on Sat Feb 05, 2005     #



"How does anyone know that this Ray Kest is THE Ray Kest?"

Good question and one that I wonder about.

"There's got to be more than one Ray Kest in the country."

Hmmm... What a really strange coincidence it would be if a different Ray Kest than the former Treasurer registered the domain.

"Maybe somebody is playing with our collective minds."

More than that, actually. It would be cruel to hassle Mr. Kest this way. I mean - by using his name to register thementalblock.net. The guy left and seems to want to start a new life. It would be shameful for someone to keep bothering him. Of course, the worst wounds are those that are self-inflicted.

posted by Erie_Island at 04:26 P.M. EST on Sat Feb 05, 2005     #



"red herring"

Is that akin to "yellow journalism"?

;-)

posted by Erie_Island at 04:27 P.M. EST on Sat Feb 05, 2005     #



>

Are you suggesting that the Blade is behind this and that Paul Hem still owns the domain name?

posted by Guest at 05:09 P.M. EST on Sat Feb 05, 2005     #



"Are you suggesting that the Blade is behind this and that Paul Hem still owns the domain name?"

Anything is possible.

The only way to find out is to have a good reason to contact Network Solutions. The REAL Mr. Kest could do that, if the domain was registered using his name without his knowledge. If someone is using Mr. Kest's name to register that domain, wouldn't there be some repercussions on the person or persons who have falsely registered it?

posted by Erie_Island at 05:36 P.M. EST on Sat Feb 05, 2005     #



That's rediculous! The Blade wouldn't fake Kest's name. Why? Kest is in Florida and convicted.

Kest was a major player with The Mental Block and most people know that.

Kest got caught by Network Solutions with that lame registration in Poland. He HAD to use his own name or lose the domain - this time for good!

posted by Guest at 08:12 A.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



"He HAD to use his own name or lose the domain."

Nobody HAS to do anything. That domain could be registered under anyone's name... I'm sure there'd be a lot of volunteers. And how do you know "Kest got caught by Network Solutions". You are making a lot of assumptions I'll bet you know nothing about.

posted by Guest at 12:34 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



And you do?

Pray tell...

posted by Guest at 01:17 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



Look, I own the domain name of a "sucks" site targeted at my employer. I had a friend register it, and I paid him to make the payment to the registry company. This kept my name out of it, and the registry company is none the wiser. Hence, if Kest really owned thementalblock.net, it is entirely possible he could have had it registered through a friend.

HENCE: Kest's name on the registry record hardly means he was forced to reveal himself. His friend could have dumped his/her involvement, thus forcing Kest to assume direct responsibility. Kest could have said "the hell with it" and corrected the record since his political career is over in Toledo. And finally ... it still may not be Kest in the first place, since registry rules are certainly lax enough to allow misrepresentation.

Why doesn't someone just ask the Blade to interview Kest and find out?

posted by Guest at 05:24 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



"HENCE: Kest's name on the registry record hardly means he was forced to reveal himself. His friend could have dumped his/her involvement, thus forcing Kest to assume direct responsibility."

Your argument would be more convincing if you didn't contradict yourself.

"...hardly means he was forced..." and "...thus forcing Kest..." --- hmmm

Are you saying that he was forced or wasn't forced? Or are you trying to saw that the WAY he was forced might be this or that. Looks like you're guilty of the same speculation that you seem to condemn with the first writer.

Are you trying to say that you don't believe what the previous guest had to say was true? Have you considered the possibility that the guest you have been debating with might have first person knowledge of the issue? Or are you trying to obtain a mathematical proof of the statements previously made?

You seem very knowledgeable -- no offense meant.

posted by Guest at 08:25 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



Sorry, English is particularly fluid in interpretation. I said "hardly means", which implied there were other options other than force, inclusive. I then replied with 3 supporting sentences revealing (1) force, (2) choice, and then (3) fraud. We have at least 3 options, with no sure way to decide which one is true (or even likely).
posted by Guest at 10:12 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



"Looks like you're guilty of the same speculation..."

I just want to know how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.

posted by Guest at 10:35 P.M. EST on Sun Feb 06, 2005     #



"...no sure way to decide which one is true (or even likely)."

I disagree with your "even likely" assertation.

It is most likely that the domain belongs to and/or is registered to Ray Kest. And, yes, THE Ray Kest. The history of the mentalblock.net includes many items that appeared to originate from Kest's former office. But most damaging - Kest recommended on Channel 11 that everyone visit www.thementalblock.net (enuncuating the "dot net"). Of course he claimed that he had nothing to do with the site.

Now, we see his name as the administrative and technical contact for the domain.

THEREFORE what is LIKELY is that Kest has registered the site, whether "forced" to do so or not.

posted by Guest at 01:30 P.M. EST on Mon Feb 07, 2005     #



<< Older Watch out drunk Super Bowlers (and Robie...    |    TPS status may be downgraded Newer >>


This is an old topic and is no longer allowing comments.



home | about | archives | customize | contact | forums | post | search

© 2003-2007 ToledoTalk.com
All posts are © their original authors.